WPL 2024 SRK Rocks Opening Ceremony Before MI vs DC Clash

WPL 2024: SRK Rocks Opening Ceremony Before MI vs DC Clash

The Women’s Premier League’s second edition started with lots of excitement. SRK, a famous Bollywood actor, kicked off the event with a big celebration at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on February 23, Friday.


India’s cricket festival began with a bang, with Bollywood stars like Shah Rukh Khan, Kartik Aaryan, Shahid Kapoor, Varun Dhawan, and Sidharth Malhotra bringing glamour to the event with their performances.


The audience cheered as Shah Rukh Khan performed on songs from his movie “Pathaan” and “Ramaiya Vastavaiya.” Before his lively performance, Shah Rukh Khan shared a special message supporting women cricketers. His energy and charm got everyone dancing to his popular songs.


Shah Rukh Khan said, “If women can succeed in many areas, why not in sports? That’s why the Women’s Premier League was started by the BCCI under secretary Jay Shah. For the next 30 days, it’s all about women, cricket, and empowerment. It’s about women rising and claiming their place.”


Shah Rukh Khan introduced the five team captains with great fanfare. Meg Lanning from Delhi Capitals, Beth Mooney from Gujarat Giants, Smriti Mandhana from Royal Challengers Bangalore, Allysa Healy from UP Warriors, and Harmanpreet Kaur from Mumbai Indians made a grand entrance on stage, sitting on a chariot. Shah Rukh Khan even had them recreate his famous pose.


The opening ceremony kicked off with Kartik Aaryan dancing for the Gujarat Giants and Shahid Kapoor’s stylish entry for Mumbai Indians on a bike. Tiger Shroff impressed the crowd with his dance moves for Royal Challengers Bangalore. Sidharth Malhotra greeted Delhi Capitals’ players before his performance, lighting up the stage with his hit songs.


It was a special moment when cricket met Bollywood. BCCI President Roger Binny, Honorary Secretary Jay Shah, and other BCCI officials joined the captains and Bollywood stars on stage. The glamorous opening ceremony ended with all five captains posing with the prestigious WPL trophy. The tournament opener followed between last year’s finalists, Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians.

𝐑𝐞𝐚𝐝 𝐀𝐥𝐬𝐨:   Women’s Premier League 2024 – All you need to know

We use cookies.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.
Read cookies policies.